I'm sure many of you have heard about this album already, but if you haven't it is one download you must get your mouse on... Yes... I said DOWNLOAD!

Danger Mouse aka Brian Burton (Legendary DJ/producer behind the Jay Z/Beatles mash-up Grey Album and one half of the duo, Gnarls Barkley) has teamed up with Sparklehorse (YES... infamous indie electro-rock group led by Mark Linkous) and David-Lynch (all the hipsters out their just popped one in their pants) to produce an epic collaboration between some of the industries best. The albums songs were written by Danger Mouse and Sparklehorse and David Lynch is credited for creating the 100+ photo book compilation which is to serve as a narrative to the accompanying music. The artists that they brought on board to perform are credited for having a hand in the composition and over all production of their track. Which artists are being featured on this album? The Flaming Lips, James Mercer of The Shins, Julian Casablancas of The Strokes, Iggy Pop, The Pixies, The Cardigans, Frank Black, Vic Chesnutt... I mean... the list goes on.
It almost sounds too good to be true right?... Well it almost was...

Due to a dispute with the label (EMI) the distribution of the album did not go according to plan and the artists decided to "stick-it-to-the-man" by releasing the album with a blank CD-R enclosed along with a note stating, "For Legal Reasons, enclosed CD-R contains no music. Use it as you will." (Basically they are alluding to downloading the album illegally).

The album has yet to be officially released, and there is some doubt as to whether or not it ever will be. Burton is encouraging fans to get a copy of the album by any means necessary. The David Lynch Photographs are available for purchase from their website. It is limited to 5000 copies and it is being soled at $50.00 a pop.

The album can be streamed here and downloaded here

Enjoy this gift from the music gods,

P.S. An exhibition will run in the Los Angeles Michael Kohn Gallery from May 30, showcasing the photographs alongside the music.

Tracklisting of 'Dark Night Of The Soul':
Revenge' (featuring The Flaming Lips)
'Just War' (featuring Gruff Rhys)
'Jaykub' (featuring Jason Lytle)
'Little Girl (featuring Julian Casablancas)
'Angel's Harp' (featuring Frank Black)
'Pain' (featuring Iggy Pop)
'Star Eyes (I Can't Catch It)' (featuring David Lynch)
'Everytime I'm With You' (featuring Jason Lytle)
'Insane Lullaby' (featuring James Mercer of The Shins)
'Daddy's Gone' (featuring Nina Persson)
'The Man Who Played God' (featuring Suzanne Vega)
'Grim Augury' (featuring Vic Chestnutt)
'Dark Night Of The Soul' (featuring David Lynch)

Share and Enjoy!
Digg Stumble This Del.icio.us Live Twitthis Google Yahoo Reddit Technorati Feedmelinks .


Drisk said... @ May 24, 2009 5:55 AM

Album completely worth a JIMPing.

Post a Comment

scribble back